January 1, 2010 In Fairbanks, AK, I walked out of our hotel bathroom and into where my husband was playing with our daughter.  I had a little pep in my step as I announced, "Congratulations!  You've done it again."  A worried look crossed his face as I began to laugh... "I'm pregnant!"  Jaw dropped, he jumped up and hugged me.  Poor Sylvia didn't have a clue about what was going on. 

Six days later we were deferred from Ft. Wainwright to Ft. Richardson and we were on a flight to Anchorage.  The entourage included the two of us, a toddler, two cats, and a very big dog. 

Not too long after our arrival, the bomb dropped.  John would be going to California for a month of pre-deployment training in March.  Then, early summer, he would deploy after only being home from the last deployment for one year.  Throughout six years of service to the Army, this will be his fourth year overseas.

So here I am again, in a new place, pregnant, and alone with a toddler.  As disheartening as it may be at times, I know that we can do this. 
Picture



Leave a Reply.